Uncategorized

Shadows (Dark Touch #1) – Amy Meredith – 3*

Shadows (Dark Touch #1)
Amy Meredith

***

No Spoilers

Fifteen-year-old Eve Evergold is cute, sassy and enjoying a busy social life. What she doesn’t know yet is that someone close to her is an evil demon that only she has the supernatural power to defeat. She needs to work out who it is – and fast! Because although there’s something very attractive about the dark side…dating a demon? Pure hell!

I got the first three of the Dark Touch saga books at the Library. I must admit, I fell for the lovely cover, it screamed forbidden, it screamed intrigue, and I, like some book-mad-fanatic, I was lured in by the glossy cover. And of course the paranormal aspect.

At the moment, I’ve not had the greatest of mindsets for a full novel. My attention span is like a gnat right now, (oh look a flailing light bulb!) so I’ve been picking shorter, not so vast novels to appease my reading bug. I picked up this first and finished it in an hour. so it is quite a short book. I digested the story for a few minutes and promptly thought to myself, perhaps I am outgrowing YA?

Shadows looked like it would be a bit more gritty, a bit more darker. But it was more fluffy in comparison. The romance was exchanged with longing stares and mindless conversation. There was a lot of lusting but not a great deal of anything else. There are two love interests; Mal and Luke. I, being the lover of darker personas, much preferred Mal. And in the end I still would have stuck with Mal, but who Eve ends up with is a good choice for the story.

Eve was quite childish, and then I had to remind myself, she is just fifteen. She wants the latest lipgloss, ( and jimmy choos!) like any other fifteen year old girl. She’s lusting after the two new boys at school, all whilst trying to not only figure out her homework but also what the strange phenomena is going on in her quaint little Town. Eve turns out to have a special power, and this is the part I felt could have really had more to it, and less… lipgloss. But it fell short of my expectations. The dialogue was quaint and a bit too fluffy and vanilla like. But the Town and Eve’s new powers are getting accustomed to the strange Demons that are rearing their ugly (or handsome) heads. 

It reads younger than what it looks, it is rather a bit too childish for me in some ways but gets quite dark in others. I liked it, I liked the little town, the characters, the relationships not only with the love interests but her friends. I thought they held quite a good dynamic between them. I enjoyed the story to a degree, but also wanted a bit… more. Overall it was a good little read, very quick and something to pas the time but nothing really to sink your teeth into.

Leave a comment