Uncategorized

Grave Sight – Charlaine Harris – 3*

Grave Sight
Charlaine Harris

***

No Spoilers

Harper Connolly is honest, ethical and loyal – and ever since a bolt of lightening zapped her on the head, she’s had an extra-special talent: she can find dead people. It’s not a common-or-garden job. Some people find Harper’s talent useful and fascinating, but she’s getting used to most people treating her like a blood-sucking leech. She’s become an expert at getting in, getting paid and getting out, fast.

When Harper and her stepbrother Tolliver, travel to the Ozarks to find a local teenager, missing, believed dead, they discover that someone is willing to go to great lengths to bury a secret.

Before long Tolliver’s locked away on trumped-up charges and Harper’s fighting for her own life…


Harper’s ability to me, was a fresh idea. Seeing the dead in a whole new light, per say. It was refreshing to read a paranormal without involving beasts as such. I was looking forward to this book, the plotline and the characters, but something fell a little short for me.

Harper was not the bright, shining protagonist I thought she would be; she let me down with her whiny, sorrowful and quite selfish persona. Throughout the book I thought maybe she would grow on me, but that was not the case. I wanted to be rid of her quite early on. Her and her brother, Tolliver. I was rather confused with their whole relationship as it was very unclear. He acted as her protector, but also.. something else. 

There are good points, if there wasn’t I wouldn’t have finished this book. Those good points were the dialogue. Written in a believable and realistic way, it carried the story very well. The setting, it had an eerie town feel, with characters living there that you could imagine being the epitome of what Charlaine was describing them. I was shocked at some points. Intrigued by others but mostly throughout reading Grave Sight, I was let down by the characters. If you don’t have an affinity with the main character, then it kind of goes down hill from there. 

Leave a comment